Thursday, 19 July 2012

Free VCL to FireMonkey converter

[Edited now that I know more about the two editions of Mida and what is available from Embarcadero]

I’ve previously posted about the Mida converter that helps you move VCL code to the FireMonkey platform. The full version costs approximately US$130 or €99 and operates as a standalone application. The nice people at Embarcadero have got together with the Mida author and made available a free Mida Embarcadero XE2 Edition so you can get a flavour of how this tool works and what it can do.

This free version is available to anyone with a registered copy of Delphi XE2, C++Builder XE2 or RAD Studio XE2, either fully licensed or trial version and acts as an IDE plugin. It does basic conversions but stops short of handling third party components, advanced LiveBindings support, image conversion and source code conversion.

If you register for an online VCL to FireMonkey migration workshop being broadcast next Wednesday, 25th July 2012 then you’ll be directed to an alternative download link for this free Mida edition that is valid to use in any registered or trial version of Delphi XE2, C++Builder XE2 or RAD Studio XE2.

The 3 hour workshop is called Delphi and C++Builder Developer Workshop: Migrating VCL Applications to FireMonkey, will be delivered by Anders Ohlson, and will run at these times on 25th July 2012:

  • 6am PDT, 9am EDT, 1pm UTC, 2pm BST
  • 11am PDT, 2pm EDT, 6pm UTC, 7pm BST
  • 5pm PDT, 8pm EDT, midnight UTC, 10am (26th July) Australia EST

You can read about the workshop at this link and register for it at this link.